Footnotes by Jemar Tisby
Footnotes by Jemar Tisby
Some Initial Thoughts about the Insurrection at the Capitol
0:00
-16:00

Some Initial Thoughts about the Insurrection at the Capitol

On January 6, 2021, insurrectionists stormed the U.S. Capitol building. They broke into the halls of Congress, carried Confederate flags, stole items from the building, and smiled for photographs.

Liveblog: Trump Incites Violent Insurrection on Capitol Hill – Mother Jones
Photo Credit: Joel Marklund/ZUMA

In this podcast, the first such episode I am recording on the Substack platform, I share some of my initial thoughts about the terroristic actions at the Capitol.

I discuss how I’m processing this event on three levels: emotional, historical, and spiritual.

After the insurrection - The terrible scenes on Capitol Hill illustrate how  Donald Trump has changed his party | United States | The Economist
Photo Credit: Reuters

These are unique times that call for a unique response. I hope to put my specific suggestions in a forthcoming written post.

In the meantime, take care of yourselves. We are going to need every ounce of health, strength, and energy for the days ahead.

P.S. If you’re thinking about getting a copy of my newly released book, How to Fight Racism, please do so before January 11. The first week of book sales are crucial, especially for getting on best seller lists. Visit: HowToFightRacism.com.

0 Comments
Footnotes by Jemar Tisby
Footnotes by Jemar Tisby
Bringing you news and views to help you become a more informed civic participant, activist, and believer.