Footnotes by Jemar Tisby
Footnotes by Jemar Tisby
We Have the Words of King but Not His Walk
4
0:00
-26:34

We Have the Words of King but Not His Walk

Why does MLK's dream remain so elusive? Because his life was so hard. Here's why.
4
I hope this post and podcast are informative. If you appreciate this kind of content, I’d be deeply grateful if you supported me by becoming a paid subscriber. Thank you!

Martin Luther King, Jr. Day became a federal holiday in 1983. After nearly 40 years of annual commemoration, what more is there to say?

I must confess, I did not intend to say or write anything publicly this MLK day. I have already written about the topic in years past. What I’ve said before is still relevant today.

In addition, I often think MLK day should be a day OFF for activists and advocates rather than a day ON.

MLK standing a podium in a suit, full color
Photo Credit: Jay A. Brown, courtesy of the Brown family

We daily strive to raise awareness about racism and alter the attitudes and structures that leave it in place. On MLK day we are expected to give talks, make appearances, volunteer, and explain to a still unwilling nation why we must conquer hate with love. It’s exhausting.

Perhaps the best way for those of who regularly engage in the struggle for racial justice to commemorate the MLK day holiday is to take a break and rest for a moment.

But in talking with my friend Tyler Burns with whom I co-host the Pass The Mic podcast, a few thoughts stirred in me.

Why does MLK’s often (misused) dream remain so elusive? Why are we still fighting so many of the same battles—including the fight for voting rights—today as King and others fought half a century ago?

Here’s why: We have the words of King but not his walk.

We quote King, but we do not live like him. We celebrate him but we don’t imitate him. We love King’s wisdom, but not King’s way.

In this podcast, I talk about what makes King’s way so hard, and why we need to take up the mission despite the difficulty.

What part of King’s vision and legacy do you find most inspiring? What part are we most in need of today? Let us know in the comments!

Leave a comment

Share

4 Comments
Footnotes by Jemar Tisby
Footnotes by Jemar Tisby
Bringing you news and views to help you become a more informed civic participant, activist, and believer.